Home » Series Order

Series Order

Follow the Harry Bosch Series or the Mickey Haller Series or Other Main Characters

Harry Bosch Series:

Harry Bosch Background: Born in 1950 in Los Angeles to Marjorie Phillips Lowe. He was named Hieronymus Bosch after the 15th century Dutch artist and nicknamed “Harry.” He became an orphan at 11 when his mother, a prostitute, was murdered. He grew up living in a youth hall and foster homes. He joined the army and did two tours in Vietnam. Harry returned to Los Angeles and joined the LAPD in 1972. He became a detective after five years in patrol.

Books in published order:
The Black Echo (1992)
The Black Ice (1993)
The Concrete Blonde (1994)
The Last Coyote (1995)
Trunk Music (1997)
Angels Flight (1999)
A Darkness More Than Night (2001)
City Of Bones (2002)
Lost Light (2003)
The Narrows (2004) (sequel to The Poet)
The Closers (2005)
Echo Park (2006)
The Overlook  (2007)
Nine Dragons (2009) (also featuring Mickey Haller)
The Drop (2011)
The Black Box (2012)
The Burning Room (2014)
The Crossing (2015) (also featuring Mickey Haller)
The Wrong Side Of Goodbye (2016) (also featuring Mickey Haller)
Two Kinds Of Truth (2017) (also featuring Mickey Haller)

Appearance in the following Mickey Haller novels: The Brass Verdict (2008) and The Reversal (2010), and a brief part in The Fifth Witness (2011) and The Gods of Guilt (2013).

Mickey Haller Series:

Mickey Haller Background: Born in 1965 in Los Angeles to a B-list movie actress from Mexico and the famous criminal defense attorney, J. Michael Haller. He was named after his father, who died when Mickey was five. After law school, he worked in the Public Defenders’ Office for about 3 years. He left and went into private practice as a criminal defense attorney, opening up Michael Haller and Associates.

Books in published order:
The Lincoln Lawyer (2005)
The Brass Verdict (2008) (also featuring Harry Bosch)
The Reversal (2010) (also featuring Harry Bosch)
The Fifth Witness (2011) 
The Gods of Guilt (2013)

Appearance in the following Harry Bosch novels: Nine Dragons (2009), The Crossing (2015), The Wrong Side Of Goodbye (2016) and Two Kinds Of Truth (2017).

Other Main Characters

Rachel Walling Appearances:
The Poet (1996)
The Narrows (2004) (sequel to The Poet)
Echo Park (2006)
The Overlook (2007)
The Scarecrow (2009)
The Reversal (2010) (small part)
The Black Box (2012) (small part)
The Burning Room (2014, brief appearance)

Jack McEvoy Appearances:
The Poet (1996)
A Darkness More Than Night (2001) (small part)
The Brass Verdict (2008) (small part)
The Scarecrow (2009)

Terry McCaleb Appearances:
Blood Work (1998)
A Darkness More Than Night (2001)
The Narrows (2004)

Cassie Black Appearances:
Void Moon (2000)
The Narrows (2004) (small part, using an alias)

Henry Pierce Appearances:
Chasing The Dime (2002)

Renée Ballard Appearances:
The Late Show (July 2017)